Change font size

Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 3   [ 23 posts ]
Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
 Post subject: CAMS to make Head/neck restraints mandatory
PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 4:05 pm 

I Say: Do or do not, there is no try.
Vehicle: MY17 BRZ, MY11 BT-50

I'm adding this thread just for some info about the actual requirement for these devices. I'm no expert and am just sharing some of the limited research I have done.

For anyone following H-ares GC8 thread recently it is hard to miss the persistence of russgt's (great) advice to get a hans device when using a seat harness (4, 5 or 6 point).

For a while now there CAMS have been letting it be known they intend making it mandatory to have a head and neck restraint shortly.

CAMS wrote:
From 1 July, 2014 all international and national circuit races, road events and off road events, except where specifically exempted due to the type of vehicle;

From 1 January, 2015, all state circuit races, road events and off road events, except where specifically exempted due to the type of vehicle.

This does not include Speed events and Auto tests.

https://www.cams.com.au/media/news/late ... -mandatory

That last line saves most of the regular people out there for a track day from a spend of well over $1k on a helmet and a hans device (plus more). You need to be running with a harness to actually use a hans device and most people just getting into track days still use the standard 3 point seatbelt. A helmet, with the appropriate standards sticker, and suitable attire should be enough. As always, check the events Supplementary Regulations.

For a long time it has been recommended that competitors wear a "horse collar", like the one pictured below. These are usually between $80 and $120. They can be worn with a normal seat belt.

They'll reduce the amount of "whiplash" you could get in a crash, which would be more than you'd normally get as you've got the extra weight of a helmet your neck is supporting.