Change font size
It is currently Tue Sep 25, 2018 10:30 am

Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 9 posts ]
 Post subject: Light Bar wiring into HID High Beams
PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2017 12:11 pm 

I Say: When brute force isn't enough, apply more of it.
Vehicle: MY05 XT - Cayenne Red

Howdy folks. Having trouble getting to grips with the wiring diagram for my light bar. I'm a total rookie with electrical diagrams which doesn't help :lol:

Car is an 04 foz xt, and I know the high beams use low side switching on that circuit but I'm having trouble understanding the best course of action to get around it.

This bloke seems to have it sorted but I don't think his wiring diagram works for my HIDs as the circuit for the standard lights is different. However no mention of a second relay to reverse the signal.

This guy seems adamant you need a second relay, but I don't understand his worded wiring diagram, summarised as...

"You can convert a high beam ground signal into a high beam +12v signal using an extra relay and a little wiring. Any generic SPST relay ought to work.

Connect the subaru high beam ground to the - side of the relay coil.
Connect the subaru ignition +12v to the + side of the relay coil.
Connect the D2 blue wire to either one of the relay switch poles
Connect the Subaru ignition +12v to the other relay switch pole."

Should I be using a second relay, or can I follow what Zook did and make it work with the HIDs?

Any help appreciated!

Post subject: Re: Light Bar wiring into HID High Beams
PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:42 pm 

I Say: Car mods are like OddBodz, you got to collect them all! -------------------------------------
Vehicle: MY05 STi swapped sled

You dont need 2 relays. You just need 1 auto electrician.

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:51 pm 

I Say: Car mods are like OddBodz, you got to collect them all! -------------------------------------

That second link, the guy has no clue and i would not follow his advice.