Change font size
It is currently Sat Nov 25, 2017 6:32 pm

Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 2   [ 12 posts ]
Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: Towbar DIY or Fitted
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 10:28 am 

Vehicle: MY15 2.5i-L

Have a NA 2.5i auto Forester 2015 model, no rear sensors, just rear camera.

Will be needing a Towbar to tow one of those tray trailers for moving sometime in September 2017. Also plan to tow a small tinny with small engine for light fishing crabbing in the local creek next year.

I have some experience with basic servicing of my car and don't mind getting under and dirty, but have never done a towbar install before. So just wondering what you guys recommend regarding below

1) Brand and costs of Towbar - Hayman Reese? Don't need something fancy, just someting regular since I am not planning to tow anything major.
2) Type of towbar end - I saw some sold online with ball end or flat with like holes in a circle or in a line.
3) DIY kit or fitted? What's the rough difference in costs?
4) If DIY, what special tools,like metal drill, clamps, etc?
5) Budget around $600

look forward to your suggestions.

Post subject: Re: Towbar DIY or Fitted
PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 12:22 pm 

Vehicle: MY99 GT bare shell on stands

If it's anything like all the previous foresters, fitting a tow bar is easy easy. You'll need the specific one made to match your vehicle, so lookup the hayman reese catalogue.
Will be ~4 bolts to attach it, will probably need to drop the back end of the exhaust system temporarily while you fit it.
Your existing wiring will have the trailer support built in; there'll be a spare female socket in the rear door behind the plastic inner lining that the hayman reese wiring will plug into.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 12:43 pm 

Vehicle: 2009 Forester XT