Change font size

Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 2   [ 16 posts ]
Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: 2013 XTP SJ - the road to better handling
PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2018 1:29 am 

Vehicle: 2013 XTP

I have some experience racing. Time Attack in my Supra and off road with the Finke. I love racing.... so why not use the skills I’ve learnt to make my family safer.

First step? By a SUV (for the family) that is AWD all the time - because activating AWD once slip has occurred is too late!

So. Step 1: buy the car the wife wants XTP. Done!

Step 2: MCA suspension. I’ve raced at WTAC for many years. Murray Coote knows road suspension.

Step 3: install as low as stock LCA’s will handle and corner balance

Step 4: see if under, neutral, or oversteers. If either of the 1st or last then install whiteline adj swaybar and tune out.

Step 5: decent width tyres! 225?! Are you kidding me????

Step 6: I tow so prob change the brakes out to handle multiple stops/towing etc

Well the journey starts. I need real data so the video choc will come in handy.

Post subject: Re: 2013 XTP SJ - the road to better handling
PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2018 1:32 am 

So MCAs are purchased. I want comfort as well so went for MCA Street Essentials with 6kg fronts and 4.5kg rears.... let’s see how it goes.

PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2018 7:19 pm 

I Say: 3 letters in the alphabet that should never be attributed to me...DIY

Looking forward to seeing how this comes along mate!

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk

190.6 atwkw | MSR | Invidia | STi | Process West | Cobb | Turbosmart | PSR | Pierburg | Whiteline | Perrin | Cusco | Hella | ROH

PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2018 1:56 pm 

So I installed the MCA's, very easy install on the 2013 SJ. Took me about 3 hours from start to finish including getting my dog back after he escaped through my garage when I had it open.